Go To Search
Your GovernmentDepartmentsCommunity ServicesBusiness ServicesI Want To
Click to Home
All elections within the City of La Vista shall be held and conducted in accordance with state statutes regarding elections and other state law regarding elections.  Elections are administered by the Sarpy County Election commission.

Elected Officials & Terms
The electors of the City shall elect a Mayor at large and two City Council members from each ward.  Council members shall be registered voters of the City and residents of the ward from which they are elected.  Terms of all elected officials shall commence on the first regular meeting in December of each election year.

The Mayor shall be elected to serve a four-year term of office. The members of the City Council shall be elected to serve a four-year term of office.  One Council member from each ward shall be elected at each election so that terms are staggered.

Filings for City Offices
Filings for City offices may be either in the office of the Sarpy County Election Commissioner or at City Hall. Filing fees must be paid to the City Clerk and no candidate filing forms shall be filed until the proper treasurer’s receipt showing the payment of such filing fee is presented to the filing officer.